Notes

Pretty much anywhere will cater for vegans with prior notice and chinese and Indian restaurants/take-aways almost always have vegan options, we simply list the most vegan friendly.

ROWES BAKERIES
These can be found in most towns in Cornwall and their wholemeal vegetable pasty is always vegan.

CHINESE/THAI RESTAURANTS AND TAKE-AWAYS
Bean curd/tofu is sometimes coated in egg. This only tends to be when it is dry, not in sauces.
Fried rice almost always contains egg but most places will do it without if you ask.
Mock meat – occasionally crispy shredded chicken or duck will have an egg coating or egg in the batter.
Noodles almost always contain egg but rice noodles (vermicelli) are OK.
Oyster sauce – Avoid. Although vegan versions exist we do not know any places in Cornwall that use them.
Satay sauce often contains shrimp, but there are vegan versions.
Red or Green Thai curry sauces almost always contain shrimp in the paste they mix in.

CHIP SHOPS
Even if a chip shop has seperate fryers for chips and meat products, during quiet periods they will often cook both in the same fryer. Whether this bothers you or not is a matter of personal taste, we cannot guarantee any of the chip shops or similar listings fry seperately.

INDIAN RESTAURANTS & TAKE-AWAYS
Cream is in most mild curries. Kormas almost always do but a few will cook them without if you specify.
Dahl sometimes contains dairy products, check!
Ghee – Vegetable ghee is OK but butter ghee is not. Check which one is used for frying. Some places use vegetable oil instead.
Nan Bread almost always contain milk.
Onion Bhajis are sometimes bound with egg.

ITALIAN RESTAURANTS AND FAST FOOD PIZZA OUTLETS
Pasta sometimes contains egg. Penne is usually vegan. All fresh pasta seems to contain egg.
Pizza bases often contain milk in take-aways but normally don’t in proper Italian restaurants. Most pizzas are made on the premises and can be had without cheese or will add vegan cheese if you supply it. We know of at least one fast food place that puts egg mayonnaise in the tomato sauce.

MIDDLE EASTERN FOOD
Falafel may contain milk or egg.
Humous supplied by catering companies usually contain milk. Smaller shops usually buy it from supermarkets and it is vegan.

 

PosTownPlaces 
1 Helston & Porthleven 50  
2 Penzance 50  
3 Isles of Scilly 49  
4 Falmouth 47 Champions League spots  
5 Bude 40 Europa League spot  
6 Tintagel & Boscastle 39  
7 Truro 36  
8 St Austell & Mevagissey 32  
9 Newquay 32  
10 Fowey 31  
11 St Ives & Zennor 28  
12 Bodmin 24  
13 Hayle 24  
14 Looe 24  
15 Redruth 22  
16 St Agnes & Perranporth 20  
17 Camborne 19  
18 Liskeard 19  
19 Gunnislake 18  
20 Lostwithiel 17  
21 Wadebridge 16  
22 Launceston 14 Relegation zone  
23 Padstow 10  
24 Saltash 8